You are here

RD Sero echoes “Bagong Pilipinas” in Cotabato Councilors’ Assembly

OIC-Regional Director Rochelle Mahinay-Sero, CESE echoed the current administration’s call for a rekindled vision for the Philippines under the brand “Bagong Pilipinas” during the Philippine Councilors League (PCL) - Cotabato Chapter 2024 General Assembly at Grand Regal Hotel, Davao City, February 14, 2024. 

Bagong Pilipinas is the overarching theme of the current Administration's brand of governance and leadership, promoting comprehensive policy reforms and economic recovery through sectoral transformations and State commitments. President Ferdinand Marcos, Jr. led its Kick Off Rally at Quirino Grandstand, Ermita, Manila last January 28, 2024 attended by thousands of Filipinos. 

OIC-RD Sero explained that the call for a “Bagong Pilipinas” is not a proclamation for a new doctrine, rather, an invitation to look back at the unique values and characteristics that make a Filipino. 

“It is time that we rally towards helping our people redirect their focus to what is positive and productive, and renew their perspectives of what the Philippines is and what it ought to be,” she said. 

As commitment to Bagong Pilipinas, OIC RD Sero urged all local legislators to provide the necessary legislative support to all local and national government programs, and engage in  meaningful discourses to help improve the overall state of governance in the country. 

“Excellent local governance is heavily anchored upon quality local legislation…. Bigyan po natin ng malasakit at puso ang bawat resolusyon at ordinansang pinapasa,” OIC-RD Sero said. 

Meanwhile, she committed to sustaining DILG Rehiyon Dose’s accomplishments and innovations, while further simplifying and streamlining the Department’s operations and services in the region as response to the renewed vision for the country.
Also present during the activity were DILG-Cotabato Provincial Director, Ali B. Abdullah; Cotabato 2nd and 3rd District Representatives, Hon. Rudy S. Caoagdan and Hon. Ma. Alana Samantha Taliño-Santos, respectively; Cotabato Governor, Hon. Emmylou “Lala” Taliño-Mendoza; and General Santos City Councilor, Hon. Lourdes F. Casabuena.