You are here

DILG XII turns over 8 infra projects to barangays in Arakan, Cotabato

Better transport experience and education within reach – these are just some of the benefits the residents of Arakan, Province of Cotabato will now enjoy as the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) XII formally turned over road and school building projects seven recently cleared barangays against armed conflict under the government’s End Local Communist Armed Conflict (ELCAC) Program.

Last May 15, 2024, DILG turned over six farm-to-market roads to the local government units of the following recipient barangays during the ceremonial turn-over activity held at Barangay Napalico Covered Court, Arakan:  Allab, Anapolon, Katipunan, Ganatan, Napalico, and Meocan.  Meanwhile, one unit of school building was turned-over to Ma. Caridad Elementary School and another to Ma. Caridad High School of Barangay Ma. Caridad.

Each road project was worth Php 6.6 million while each unit of the school building was worth Php 3.3 million all funded under the 2023 Local Government Support Fund - Support to Barangay Development Program (LGSF-SBDP), DILG XII’s Project Development and Management Unit (PDMU) confirmed.

SBDP is a flagship program of the Department and an offshoot of Executive Order No. 70 which aims to end local communist armed conflict through a whole-of-nation approach. The program provides funding to priority projects of barangays previously infiltrated by communist-terrorist groups.

In his message, Arakan Mayor Jeam D. Villasor thanked the Department for the fund support extended to the barangays and further expressed his excitement for the economic opportunity the ELCAC program brings to the town – from being “a nest and infected by communist groups” to becoming the” eighth most visited tourist destination”, Mayor Villasor added.

Also present during the activity were Municipal Vice Mayor Mary Gerlie T. Montales, Sangguniang Bayan Members Rene V. Rubino and Joselito Cases, Punong Barangays of the recipient barangays, DILG Provincial Director Ali B. Abdullah, DILG Finance and Administration Chief Dennis T. Sucol, and PDMU Chief Engr. Herminia S. Ontoy.