You are here


On September 13, 2022, the Department of the Interior and Local Government Rehiyon Dose participated in the National Simultaneous Tree Planting Activity with the theme “Buhayin ang Pangangalaga Sa Kalikasan”, on the different planting sites in Region XII identified by the Department of Environmental and Natural Resources (DENR) XII.

The planting activity was a collaboration with Department of Environmental and Natural Resources (DENR), Department of Agriculture (DA), Civil Society Organizations (CSOs), Local Government Units (LGUs) and other regional offices such as PNP-PRO 12, LTO 12, BFP 12, BJMP 12, DENR-EMB 12, PIA 12, DBM 12, DPWXH 12, DTI 12, TESDA 12, DA 12, DEPED 12, DOLE 12, and NAPOLCOM 12 to address environmental concerns by reminding people of their roles in the care and protection of Mother Earth.

In compliance with Memorandum Circular 2022-11 issued by SILG Atty. Benjamin C. Abalos, Jr., relative to the conduct of the said activity, Local Chief Executives are advised to coordinate with the local DILG, DENR and DA for information and other related details of the activity and all concerned Punong Barangays are directed to ensure the sustainability and maintenance of the planting sites.

A total of 7,500 seedling were planted all over region 12 with different tree species such as Bamboo, Narra, Indigenous, Lauan and Bakauan in the ten (10) sites identified by the DENR 12 namely Brgy. Kenram, Isulan, Brgy. Hinalaan, Kalamansig and Lebak in Sultan Kudarat Province, Brgy. New Israel, Makilala and Brgy. Amas, Kidapawan City in the Province of Cotabato, Brgy. Reyes and Improgo in South Cotabato Province, Brgy, New La Union, Maitum and Brgy. Data Tamapal, Malungon in Sarangani Province and Brgy. Bula in General Santos City. Among the identified planting sites, various LGUs in the region also conducted the activity in Malapatan, Sarangani Province and Tantangan, South Cotabato Province.

The planting endeavor was a success on a more general scale.